21:10 PM

OhioHealth Physician Diversity Scholars Program Gets National Recognition


More than 10 years after it was created, the OhioHealth Physician Diversity Scholars Program is still going strong, and getting national recognition.

The Alliance of Independent Academic Medical Centers (AIAMC) awarded this OhioHealth program its innovation award for 2021.

"Talent is equally distributed, but opportunities are not," says program director Nanette Lacuesta, MD, OhioHealth Riverside Methodist Hospital. "We are taking great strides with intentional programming to support underrepresented students. It's also a commitment to living our value of Inclusion."

The program pairs mentors from across OhioHealth with medical students attending Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine, Wright State Boonshoft School of Medicine and The Ohio State University College of Medicine. The aspiring physicians learn from their mentors about building a career in medicine and can ask questions to guide their own path.

"We believe in the program so much, and we know the tremendous difference a mentor can make in the life of a medical student," Dr. Lacuesta said.  "To be recognized by the AIAMC for the work we are doing is a great honor, and shows that we are true leaders in diversity and inclusion."

Dr. Lacuesta, who is a first-generation Filipino-American, has the unique perspective of benefitting from the program as a student, mentor, associate program director and now director the program. She knows first hand the value of a program helping underrepresented students thrive.


The Physician Diversity Scholars program schedules group events for participants, service projects, and offers the bond of one-on-one engagement as students experience the pressures of medical school and residency.

To learn more about the OhioHealth Physician Diversity Scholars Program, click here.